Posted on

An Authentic Journal Entry From My 40-Day Adventure: Charlie’s Pond (Day 23)

Adventures With Schtick Jagger– Part II

This is an actual journal entry I wrote on one of my best days on the trip. What’s cool about this is normally when I write blog posts, I’m thinking about what other people are going to think of it.  When I wrote this I was only concerned with getting my soul right with God. I honestly never planned on showing anybody any of my journal entries (when you get to the paragraph where I use Jesus and the F-bomb in the same sentence that will be apparent!), but last week one of my instructors on the trip sent me an email to encourage me in my transition back into civilization.  She said in the email that we had been out of the wilderness for 23 days, then she reminded us of Day 23 of our trip and how beautiful it was… so then God nudged me to look up Day 23 in my journal and this is what it said:

23 Days in the wilderness and if there was a king-sized tempur pedic in front of me right now i wouldn’t go lay in it.  My spot on an island rock out in the middle of one of the worlds coziest ponds is better.  I am in sanctuary right now.  If I could I would be baptized here.  You’ve never seen such a perfect and peaceful wading pool.  It’s silly now to think how resort hotels try so hard– with so much time, money, and labor to capture what God created in a millisecond of a day, and he did it 1000 times better.

I think back to now to the nervous, worried, anxious wreck I was during summer session… and I smile.  I praise my Father!  Thank you Lord.  Thank you for letting me go my own way.  For straying as far away from you in six weeks as I could.  Now I know that the not working out, not going to church, excessive mess I was is something I never want to be again.  I want your everlasting peace that passes all understanding like I have now.  I want to be the MAN sitting on this rock in one of your most ruggedly elegant niches of the world.

Sitting here… writing… shirt off, tan on, barefoot with my feet barely dangling over the water, dipping my toes in when I get too warm.

You see this trip  adventure, like life, is cyclical in its trials and joys.  Every 4-6 days you have one where you remember, without a doubt, why your soul longed to be out here.  Why you signed that check to pay for the trip.  It’s so renewing you almost want to write another one.  I’m going on record now and saying this is one of the best days of my trip… actually it’s one of the best days of my life.

Instead of having 2 Leaders of the Days (LODs) today we switched to solo LODing… I was the leadoff hitter and by the grace of God I knocked it out of the park, 2nd deck, this ones gone, IT AIN’T COMIN BACK! I had us wake up at 6:45, which in this wilderness world is a late morning.  We had 3.5 miles to cover and 550 feet of elevetion gain.  Even w/ the curveball of Chris diarrearing in his trousers while we were packing up — ha! — (we left at 9:40 instead of 9:10), we made it to camp by 1:15, and could’ve made it by 12:45 if I would’ve known how close we were before our last pack off break.

Then something amazing happened which had nothing to do with my leadership skills: we found the perfect campsite and we haven’t had a real solid one in the Wind Rivers yet.  You should’ve seen the smiles of God’s faithfulness on Team Awesome’s faces… we were, as we like to say here, Jazzed!

Our campsite contains the following features: soft flat tent sites, a view, a kitchen close by, this bathing pool I’m sitting at, a tree for shade above our tent site, and close above the kitchen a 360 degree view of one of the most breathtaking places in the already breathtaking Wind River Mountains… this is where we will Worship… God’s natural chapel.

On top of that the mosquitos aren’t bad, the sun is shining, and we’re here for two nights.  In the name of Jesus, I say Fuck the Hilton! This is way sweeter.  I gotta run.  I will try and come back tonight and journal more (more midday poop was epic!), but right now I have to read God’s word… because I want too, how about that?

I’m back.

Let’s talk about one of the best poops of my life today… a 4.5 (scale of 1-5). It was right by Charlie’s Pond (yes I named it after myself… I’ve just always wanted to have one place in the world named after me… to get my Lewis and Clark on). Anyways… I had a view yet privacy, someone else had Stanley (our poop shovel) so I had to flip a rock and for some reason I worked on this one big ole sucker really buried in there.  It came out after 5 minutes or so and I can’t even describe how perfect my toilet was… it was God’s toilet.  It was honestly comfortable and I took a good 10-15 minutes on my dump.  That’s just something that doesn’t happen in the wilderness often.

It’s 11 pm as I’m writing right now and the human in me wishes I could videotape or write down how perfect I feel right now.  A part of my heart breaks for all the beautiful pictures that didn’t get taken today.  Like me right now… writing, sitting under a full moon with mountains all around me as 8 of the most beautiful people I’ve ever met sleep safely and peacefully below me.  But then God reminds me he’s got this all down on the Lifetape, he’s snapped every photo I haven’t and he took it from a heavenly angle with eternal clarity… and someday… I’ll get to watch this day with him and hug him and thank him… truly… for his Great Faithfulness.

About ananiasgo

Charles Westerman is a freelance writer, songwriter, school bus driver and murder mystery theater actor living in Portland, Oregon. He grew up on a ranch in Chugwater, Wyoming as the youngest of five kids and graduated from Washington State University with a degree in Journalism and English Lit. in May 2012. In between driving his Jr. High minions back-and-forth from school, he is currently at work writing his debut literary novel, Where Heaven Meets Cheyenne and its sequel. A two-part telling of the story of his ordinary family that came together in an extraordinary way. For the past two and half years he has worked to tell this story with honesty, excellence and honor to the characters who made it possible.

Leave a Reply

