Posted on

Song I wrote during my 48 hour alone time in the wilderness

What I learned in the wilderness is that I have to die to myself and be renewed in my authentic identity in Christ.  That’s what’s beautiful about him… when you give up your ego, pride, self-righteousness — whatever you want to call it — you gain confidence because everyday you become a little bit more of the person God truly intended you to be.  The most beneficial thing you can truly do for yourself is to live for God’s will for your life.  When you do that suddenly it’s not so difficult and trivial to love other people.  Because you love God more than yourself and he loves other people just as much as he loves you.

I remember one of my biggest moments on the trip is when I went into the woods by myself and broke down crying with these words… “Take it God. Take it all. Take my pride. Take my anger. Take my own pathetic little story. I’m tired of living a seemingly purposeless life.  I want to live for a epic purpose. A glorious purpose. I want to live for a story that is better and purer and more righteous than my own.”

That’s what the lyrics in this song are about.  The title comes from 1 Corinthians 13:1.

The Most Excellent Way (Yeah Way) (Yahweh)

(verse 1)

well you spoke those things

and stabbed wounds in me

but it feels good to bleed

feels good to breath in what i need

humility has never felt so free

cuz i’ve been aching

for realer things

prayin’ that my pain would come alive

(chorus)

come alive in me

break me down like mercy knees

come and live in me

let me live in your reverie

yes i will sing

it feels good to bleed

for blood that’s not from me

(verse 2)

well i had this dream

the angels of spring

were blooming by the streams

a man on the street

just smiled at me

and started singing “It is Well”

well i lost myself

couldn’t think of anything else

all these years i thought my father died

(chorus)

he came alive to me

and lit me up like a cigarette chain

come and live in me

and set me free of my fearful ways

yes i will sing

it feels good to breath

for life that’s not from me

(bridge)

and i like to think you smiled as you folded up your clothes

and rolled away that stone

a pure and naked truth

shining sure fire proof

that from the womb all the way to the tomb

you’ve felt all my wounds

(chorus)

brothers come alive with me

we’ll march with peace in the saints army

come and live with me

we’ll laugh like we did in community

and we will sing

it feels good to be

in love that’s not with me

About ananiasgo

Charles Westerman is a freelance writer, songwriter, school bus driver and murder mystery theater actor living in Portland, Oregon. He grew up on a ranch in Chugwater, Wyoming as the youngest of five kids and graduated from Washington State University with a degree in Journalism and English Lit. in May 2012. In between driving his Jr. High minions back-and-forth from school, he is currently at work writing his debut literary novel, Where Heaven Meets Cheyenne and its sequel. A two-part telling of the story of his ordinary family that came together in an extraordinary way. For the past two and half years he has worked to tell this story with honesty, excellence and honor to the characters who made it possible.

One response to “Song I wrote during my 48 hour alone time in the wilderness

  1. Jim Doenges ⋅

    Love it! I remember just barely being able to hear you playing guitar and singing from across that big frozen lake – in the July of the Winds. But I could not make out the words. Thanks for sharing. I’d like to hear you play it/sing it if possible. BE BLESSED!

Leave a Reply

