Posted on

Patience.

By: mOUNTbRENDON

I wrote the following for my own blog a few months ago. I needed to read it again today in order to remind myself of the importance of patience, which is definitely something that I have not been very good at this semester.

I have been looking ahead (months and months ahead) and not focusing on what is happening now in my life. The following was a much needed reminder and hopefully helps me to snap out of it. And maybe it can help you to do the same…

Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

–          Matthew 6:34

I’m sitting in an airplane almost 40,000 feet about the earth as I write this and listening to an awesome playlist that I just found in my iTunes library from a long time ago.

I just realized that I need to listen to more Phil Collins. Because he is awesome and so is the movieTarzan, but almost solely because of him. But that is not at all applicable to this blog. I just thought I throw it out there.

The last week or so I’ve spent on vacation with my family in Southern California. It’s been a great experience and I’m rather bummed that I’m on my return home already.

Now, upon my return home, I have to think about the worries of a life in “the real world”. And I’m not referring to worries such as who is sleeping with whom, what club I’m going to tonight, or how I’m going to start a fight with the guy in the house who took a sip of my beer, because I haven’t been cast into a reality TV show. Not yet anyway.

But I have been cast into the role of a 21-year-old unemployed college student. And my objective: find a way to earn enough money to pay rent for the summer.

Finding a job has been looming over my head for this entire week of vacation despite my attempts to push it to the back of my mind behind my thoughts how being around my niece makes me want to be two again and how online classes are great for allowing you to take vacation without missing class…except for the fact that you still have to actually keep up with the class and how much of a buzz kill that can be.

Thinking about this made me think of patience. And how patience is a difficult virtue to have in today’s society. And how I think God requires patience.

A few months ago I had a conversation with someone about hearing God’s voice. I don’t remember what my stance was at the time, but I do remember agreeing upon the fact that it is very difficult to decipher his voice from one’s own perceptions.

I think that the best way to hear God’s voice is to wait.

And be patient.

Because a decision will come through time.

Only about two weeks ago, I was convinced that I was going to perform a certain action of which I’m not going to reveal because it is not the action that is important, but rather the lesson learned from the action.

I decided that it was not something to act on immediately and to wait until the end of the summer so that I knew that it was the right thing to do.

Two weeks later, I know that it is absolutely not the right thing to do and would most definitely be a mistake.

And I think that God told me that through time. It’s a very difficult thing to grasp and I’ve been trying to comprehend it for years. But I think that I finally do. I think that it’s a rather abstract understanding and one that needs to be figured out for one’s self, but I do have some personal insights to share.

The Hindus believe in taking one’s self out of one’s actions; that one needs to not be concerned at all about the results of the actions, but still perform the actions to the best of one’s ability.

I think that this is what Jesus means when he says, “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”

We shouldn’t be worried about what is going to happen tomorrow for the following reasons:

–          It takes us away from the here and now. If we’re worried about what the future might hold, it means that our attention is away from what is currently happening.

–          In worrying about the future, we are not trusting God. And trust is a form of faith. And faith is essential to being a follower of Christ.

By taking in and focusing on what is happening now, we are not worrying about what the future might hold. We are able to trust God and have faith that He will speak to us through time.

And I have a theory; that God speaks to different people in different ways. And that part of our duty in seeking Him and following Him is figuring that out; how He speaks to each of us individually.

But I do think that any way you cut; however it is that God speaks to you requires patience. And in a society where just about everything comes almost instantly from the push of a button, patience is a difficult thing to develop.

It’s funny how things work. I started this blog on Sunday. Monday and Tuesday, I was super stressed about things and was, for lack of a better term, being a bit of a drama queen about, letting it stress me out and bring me down. Today, Wednesday, I woke up and decided to figure it out. I spent the first half hour of my day with God by finishing 1st Samuel and praying. From that, I decided to take my own advice mentioned above and not worry about how things were going to end up. By noon today, I had a job. I don’t know if that really means much at all, but I do know that life is better served in the moment.

And that takes a great amount of patience.

About B.R. Mt.

I am a writer of fiction, poetry, song, and philosophy. I drive a school bus to pay my bills and write most the day to pay my soul. My primary missions in life are to defy expectations and encourage others to look beyond the surface.

One response to “Patience.

  1. cmarievp

    Praise God about your job–That’s not a coincidence!

Leave a Reply

