Posted on

Surrendering All.

 

What does it mean to be in full surrender of my Lord? I have been challenged with this question this past year, and haven’t come to a full conclusion (and won’t until I see Him face-to-face), but each day I am getting a step closer through the little hints He passes by me.

God has showed me through scripture….Luke 16:13 “No servant can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money.” 9 times out of 10 when I help someone out I do it for selfish ambitition. I was proposed the question, “If you were paid $1000 everytime you witnessed to someone, would you do it more?” Personally, yes, I would witness to people more if that was the case. I am, in that mindset, serving money more than God.

hint#2 Jesus has shown me that I have a hard time loving people by myself. In fact I suck at it. When Jesus left this world He gave us a “simple” command. To love one another.  Love is a word that is so easily misinterpreted…through finding love I would look for what pleased me, gave me the most satisfaction, and made me the most comfortable. Totally looking out for myself. Love is not like that at all. Love is sacrifice.  Instead of looking out for myself, I’ve learned to think of another’s perspective.

hint#3. judging others. Matthew 7:1-2 “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” I have caught myself lately thinking degrading thoughts about other people, and thought, “what if they thought this about me?” Again, I was thinking of myself- but it really made me make more of an effort to stop those thoughts. I want to care for people, not only in my actions, but in my thoughts as well.

hint#4. have dates with Jesus. As believers, Christ is your husband/soulmate/your forever. Just like spending time with a  boyfriend/girlfriend it’s important to set aside time to spend with the Lord. If that means a walk, listening to Christ-centered music, or going to a coffee shop while getting into the Word than so be it! It’s so rewarding, and any time spent for the Lord will never be in vain. He notices…He loves it…He loves you.

To send you off with a take-away: Serve Christ more than man and money, love others, don’t judge, and go on a date! I hope these hints are helpful for you as I need to be reminded of them daily.

Leave a Reply

