Posted on

Life Chapters.

By: mOUNTbRENDON

I am in a weird place in my life right now, which has made it difficult for me to focus on the present, on where I’m heading and how I’m getting there. I can’t help but constantly look ahead to the future. I know what I want long term, but what the hell do I want short term? Here and now?

My relationship with God has definitely changed. My view toward God has definitely changed. I see things differently than I used to, and I think a lot of people (particularly those of the American Christian faith) would be scared of by my current views. But I can tell you with full confidence that I cannot ignore God and that I believe in God just like I ever did. I cannot ignore his presence, existence, and what he has done in and for my life.

With that said, I have experienced change these last few months. Change for the better. I once heard someone say that evidence of someone having a successful pursuit of God comes in growth. Well, I have certainly grown.

I look at me from a year ago and I do not even feel like the same person. Not even remotely. And despite what others may think, despite the fact that I may seem to some like I have lost a lot of my faith, I ask myself, “Has this change been for the better?” And the answer to that is undoubtedly, “Yes. Don’t even ask that. It’s a silly question.” Not to say that I am this awesome person now who has everything figured out, cause that couldn’t be further from the truth, BUT, I am finally becoming the person that I always know I had deep inside me, but could never seem to grab ahold of and bring to the surface before. I am a doer now.

I have evolved. I have shed skin. I have begun a new chapter. And my biggest problem as a result as been knowing how to deal with this new skin. That has been the part that I have not done a very good job of and as a result I have allowed myself into this weird place that has built itself up to surround me. As my friend Charlie would say though, “Your life is awesome right now. You have no reason to be frustrated with things.”

And he is right. My life is awesome right now. I just keep allowing myself to make it harder than it really is.

I let the reins of my life slip out of my grasp. I merely let my focus relax a bit and all I need to do now is reach out and grab the reins back in and this weird place in my life is going to pass.

It is amazing how life works in stages. It seems fitting that books and novels are written in chapters. Because it really is the perfect metaphor for how life works. I’m in the middle of rising action of my life story. Soon, I will be chasing my dreams for real and I will face the biggest and scariest dragons I’ll ever see.

But all that doesn’t happen until at least a few life chapters from now. And it never did anyone any good to look ahead several chapters in a novel. One doesn’t get much out of a novel unless he or she is focused in on what is happening in the present moment of the pages. You have to take novels one page at a time in order to do it justice.

I am terribly exited to find out what happens in the next few chapters and beyond in my life. And that is how it should be. Because you know you’re living a good story when you can’t wait to see what happens next. Just like you know you’re reading a good book when you feel the same.

But the next few chapters won’t have the same impact and excitement unless you slow down your reading and allow yourself to comprehend what is happening in the current chapter. So be excited about your future life chapters, but slow down and read the present chapter closely and hold on to every word.

Because if you do, God will right there with you, looking over your shoulder and smiling.

About B.R. Mt.

I am a writer of fiction, poetry, song, and philosophy. I drive a school bus to pay my bills and write most the day to pay my soul. My primary missions in life are to defy expectations and encourage others to look beyond the surface.

2 responses to “Life Chapters.

  1. cmarievp

    Wow…Brendon I feel like you took what has been going on in my mind and put it on paper. Thank you so much for explaining this- i needed to hear that it’s important to enjoy the time now and be excited for the future at the same time. I honestly have felt the pressure of people thinking I’ve lost some of my faith this year as well, but honestly I’ve never felt more at peace with God. This really inspired me and I know God had me read this for a reason. Living for Jesus we will be living as a footstool for others, and judgements will be made upon us, but it’s worth the risk and wait! Thanks again and God bless you.

    • Thanks Crista. I’m glad this was able to make an impact. It’s definitely encouraging to hear. Only you can know and decide hos your relationship with God is. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. I’m glad to hear you’re at peace. It’s definitely a good place to be. It is most definitely worth the risk. Thank y . ou and God bless.

Leave a Reply

