Posted on

Supporting Characters.

By: mOUNTbRENDON

Recently, I have been internally bouncing ideas around for my first attempt at writing a novel. I have also been reading a great deal of fiction both inside and outside of classes.

I think that it is obvious to say that a great story begins with a great main character. However, this character does not necessarily have to be likeable either. He/she just has to be interesting.

One thing I realized the other day was that not only does a great story need a great central character, but a great story also needs great supporting characters. Every character must contribute something interesting and unique to the story in their own ways.

This applies to life, and to living a great story. To take a page out of Donald Miller’s book, to live a great life, you need to live a great story. You are obviously the central character to your own story.

And a great central character needs great supporting characters.

So, surround yourself with great supporting characters; with great people who are living their own great stories, and your story will become even better.

About B.R. Mt.

I am a writer of fiction, poetry, song, and philosophy. I drive a school bus to pay my bills and write most the day to pay my soul. My primary missions in life are to defy expectations and encourage others to look beyond the surface.

One response to “Supporting Characters.

  1. oh yeah..
    that’s inspired me..
    thanks for your article..
    🙂

Leave a Reply

