Posted on

Pastor Charles (5/7/97)

My grandma sent me this story I wrote when I was seven… when I was in my prime as a writer.

Pastor Charles 

Once upon a time, I wanted to be a pastor.  I think God was calling me to be one.  I read the Bible and I watched Reggie White play Jeopardy and there was ‘The Bible’ and he picked ‘The Bible’ and that’s what I would have picked.  Every night before I go to bed, I say my prayers.

I try not to lie, but it is very hard for me because I have got in the habit and I have to get out of it.  when I get older, I want build my own church.  I don’t want to use somebody else’s church.  I lost my bible and it has been lost for three months.  I still look for it because it is one of the thing I read in bed.

Now I am bigger and I am a pastor.  I preach for people.  It is very hard for me to get to my wife, but the meetings are fun and I like to have meetings.  My church has black and white people in it.  Half black and half white.  When new people come in, I really really enjoy and lets me know that there is new people in town.  I have been a pastor for 10 years now and it has been fun, but for a year, I am going to have to take some time off so I can spend some time with my wife.  After a year it felt like my first time since it was so long.

Now I am an old grandpa.  I still preach, but today, I got really sick and I can’t preach.  I am so sick that I can die.  In the nursing home, I preach for the Grandmas and Grandpas. After a year, I died.

My grave was big and everybody said in the funeral that I had a big heart.

THE END.

(Yes, I was as weird at 7 as I am now.)

About ananiasgo

Charles Westerman is a freelance writer, songwriter, school bus driver and murder mystery theater actor living in Portland, Oregon. He grew up on a ranch in Chugwater, Wyoming as the youngest of five kids and graduated from Washington State University with a degree in Journalism and English Lit. in May 2012. In between driving his Jr. High minions back-and-forth from school, he is currently at work writing his debut literary novel, Where Heaven Meets Cheyenne and its sequel. A two-part telling of the story of his ordinary family that came together in an extraordinary way. For the past two and half years he has worked to tell this story with honesty, excellence and honor to the characters who made it possible.

Leave a Reply

