Posted on

An Active Pursuit– By: David Landrus

With every blog post I will put a song to accompany it so that you can listen to the same thing that I am when I write it. Music has the power to inspire and I believe that sharing the song I am listening to will increase communication with the reader. Enjoy.

Song: “Ghost Man on Third” – Taking Back Sunday

Post:

The title of this post, as you might have already noticed, is “An Active Pursuit”. The title is a bit ambiguous, it begs the question “an active pursuit of what?”. In my analysis, throughout life every human is in an active pursuit of something. Here at WSU, that pursuit is after a degree and a job. For others it’s a man or a woman chasing after a significant other. Maybe for you it’s an active pursuit of a sub sandwich when lunch time rolls around. The point is this, we have needs, wants and desires that orders our lives in our constant pursuit of happiness. What we don’t often times realize is that these pursuits are ultimately trivial and will inevitably end in death and decay. That may sound harsh, but in reality it’s true. You chase your whole life until you can’t chase anymore and keel over of exhaustion or just good ol’ fashioned old age. So to those who aren’t dead yet I want to share with you why I think our “Active Pursuits” need a make over.

The biggest flaw I see in the average man’s goals and desires is that they are after things that are headed towards the same fate that is given to him/her. So, using that logic our pursuit needs to be after something that is metaphysical, or in laymens terms “spiritual”. This is usually the part where people begin rolling their eyes and squirming so I invite you to bear with me. If one was to look objectively at human history objectively, you would notice some key things:

  1. Ice floats
  2. Man harnessed fire/energy for his/her benefit
  3. There was a man who died and came back to life

There are obviously other huge things that could be noted but I believe they all fall into insignificance when seen in the grand scheme of existence. Ice floating is vital for our planet to be inhabitable and is the foundational premise for life to exist. Man harnessing fire/energy is solely responsible for all technological advancements and the fact that we could destroy all life on earth with the push of a button(or multiple buttons). But the last thing you would notice is the one that is imperative for this post. The fact that there was one man who died and came back to life is evidence that we can set our desires on something that is beyond this existence. And if you were to read the book written about him (a best seller) you would also find out that this man also claimed to be God and invited everyone to ACTIVELY PURSUE him and him alone. If your wondering what Jesus actually said, here is a little snip it from the Gospel of John in chapter 6:

35 Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.36 But I said to you that you have seen me and yet do not believe.37 All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never cast out.38 For I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will but the will of him who sent me.39 And this is the will of him who sent me, that I should lose nothing of all that he has given me, but raise it up on the last day.40 For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.”

So that’s my food for thought today. I encourage you that the next time you find yourself in active pursuit of something you think twice, maybe even three times, about why you are and whether it is better than pursuing God. A God who became flesh and bore a cross that was not his own for the sakes of Dick and Janes like you and me.

Leave a Reply

